A baker’s dozen of links.

1. And it’s a good thing they do because other women reject sexually promiscuous peers.  Head over to Mangan’s for the rest of the story.

2. In Church Shopping and the Race to the Bottom, Donal Graeme tells a story that exemplifies “church shopping” and explains that

people will shop around for a church that they feel comfortable at. In this day and age, one where feminism is largely running rampant even among “conservatives,” biblical commands tend to make most people uncomfortable. Most Christians are no longer “in the world”, but instead are “of the world.” [...] the ability of “Christians” to church shop creates a natural pressure amongst churches to race to the bottom, to the lowest common denominator, and adopt beliefs which don’t conflict with the worldly views of members or potential members. This pressure is always present, because membership means prestige, power and money. If one church doesn’t adapt, then another will, and will benefit from it, while the other suffers. In order to compete, in order to survive long term, a church must adapt. Of course, adapt in this case means to try and ditch as many of those pesky scriptural commands as possible.  Continue reading…

3. At The Orthosphere, guest poster Finn McCool asks and answers the question Is It Possible to Discriminate and Still Be a Christian?  He relates the Biblical passages about the confusion of our common language at the Tower of Babel and explains:

Do you remember P. J. O’Rourke’s famous quip—“Giving money and power to government is like giving whiskey and car keys to teenage boys”? Well, that’s what a sinful and purposefully united human race is; they are drunk and dangerous and for their own safety they must have their “keys” (i.e. their unity) taken away from them. That’s why a kind-hearted cop tells the drunken frat guys to shut up and go home. It’s for their own good.

And it is good, it is necessary, it is ordained by Yahweh himself that sinful mankind be separated by language, by race, by custom, by culture—and by tangible borders. Yes, all humans everywhere are naturally united by our common humanity. But this is a fallen humanity, and though our dispersal over the face of the whole earth is an example of God’s judgment, it is also an instance of his common grace. Continue reading…

4. Cane Caldo offers A Refresher on the Basics: There Are No Ugly Truths, but Mrs. Wood, who objected to my usage of the word “butt”, most definitely ought not to read it, as the other title he considered for the post was Women Want Dick.   But he makes a really good point to me in the comments:

Many men really just will not accept this magnificent fact about women. Because of this, they teach their women (who WILL follow) that their own dicks are nothing to be excited about.  Women are souls too, and so will bring in their own preconceptions, but she has no incentive to correct her misconceptions if he has the same ones.

Note: The language in this post is salty, but if you’ve been around, you know that CC is a serious Christian, so if he is using such language, he has a reason to do so.

5. I got an email from Mr Private Man, letting me know about a service he is now offering: One On One Advice Is Now Available (Phone-Based).  He has been running events called Red Pill Dating to teach single men and women some basics about attraction and dating; in his email, he writes:

I am passionate about giving Red Pill dating and attraction advice. That’s why I’ve been blogging for well over two years and spun off Red Pill Dating for live events. It’s very rewarding for me.

I have developed a system so I can deliver the advice consistently and efficiently. I’ve done it before and I truly enjoy it.

PM’s advice is for singles, and be advised that he is not a Christian, but he can be quite Christian-friendly.

6. However, if it’s marital attraction advice you are looking for, Married Man Sex Life is the place to go.  Athol’s latest post is about the hazards of the wife Framing the Official Relationship History:

if she controls the official meeting minutes of the relationship, she gets to be the one that remembers the relationship correctly. Which means she controls the entire frame of the relationship history. Which means if she’s fallen out of love with you, your entire relationship will be rewritten to frame you as some loser she was putting up with and her as the long suffering spouse. Thus explaining, when driven to the breaking point, the need to seek solace in the arms of another.  This mind control tactic is called Gaslighting.

7. Danny’s form of Black Knighting is to cash in on foolish white knights:

I’ve YET to meet a woman who wasn’t willing to share in the spoils of white knights. They love nothing more than bragging about their ability to procure any and everything for nothing from a hapless beta. So, I don’t really see the point in shaming them, especially when I get to cash in on them too.

8. Some good advice from Brigid at Home on the Range:

Everything is based on now. Do not pass GO, do not collect $200. What do you mean you haven’t got a date, got a spouse, a house, a baby, and we need to talk to you about those 25 pounds.  Everything is on a time schedule and it’s not necessarily ours. Meals are microwaved, we speed date, express wash, Kwik-e-Mart, and you know what? We find that in rushing towards what we’re supposed to want, we missed the things that can truly change our lives.

Reset your clock. Just once, turn off your computer turn off your cell phone, turn off Twitter, and Facebook and clear your calender for a few hours. Pick up that old firearm that may have been your Dad’s, or your Grandfathers and head out into the country.  If you don’t hunt, then pick up a camera, a drawing pad and a pencil.  But take some tool that will open up the wilderness to you and go.

9. Lori from Always Learning discusses the spin that Michael Douglas’ HPV-caused throat cancer is getting by the MSM and the medical establishment:

They refuse to speak truth but instead give people an out for bad behavior.   Instead of practicing abstinence until marriage, just take a shot so you can fool around as much as you want without consequences.  I don’t see how a vaccine can prevent all the sexually transmitted diseases one can get from oral sex or intercourse.  They are lying to us!  They think a vaccine or a condom will prevent all disease.  Why are they so afraid to say the obvious…You won’t get a sexually transmitted disease if both spouses have stayed pure until marriage.  Monogamy is safe.  It is God’s protection for us.

10. Stingray from Verus Conditio invites women to tell their stories of choosing biblical submission.  These personal narratives are powerful because they serve as an antidote to the often-repeated lie that submissive women are doormats.  She writes:

So many women who have decided to tell their story feel a strong sense of freedom.  Why?  Because, at last, we are free to be feminine.  We are free to be women, not quasi men.  So I invite my commenters and readers to tell their story.  If you’ve decided to be submissive, what has it done for your life and for your marriage?  How has it affected your husband?

11. In Don’t Lie to Your Daughters, Allamagoosa responds to this:

by wisely noting:

Lying to your children and sheltering them from the world is not love. It is selfish and cruel. You are not helping them in any way. The truth will out and they will hate you and never trust you again. You can’t control what your child feels, you certainly can’t do it forever.

12. Why do so many more women than men attend church?  Maybe it’s because churches have Women’s Ministries called “Refined Gems” and Men’s Ministries called “Dirt Bags.”  Laura Grace has the full story at Unmasking Feminism.

13. Martel at Alpha is Assumed writes:

Vox Day recently asked “why do women ruin everything, even for themselves?”  Because they’re giving shit-tests, and there’s nobody around to pass them; the men are either weak or nowhere to be found.  When women know they’re testing, there’s a chance that they can limit themselves (sometimes, sort of, almost, under the right conditions).  However, feminists don’t admit that they need anything from men (besides their genitalia and/or sperm), so they’ll never admit to giving tests.  Nevertheless, test they must, and the more vicious their tests, the more likely men will see no need to bother with them.  The Hamster, uncontrolled, untrained, and without masculine restraint morphs intopure evil.  The Hamster is now the Shrew.

And a little fat-shaming to round out the baker’s dozen…

91 thoughts on “A baker’s dozen of links.

  1. Frank

    I finally found the girl of my dreams! http://db.tt/I65R3NCJ

    Yeah she’s a little rough around the edges, but nobody’s perfect, and besides I need to be realistic about my options in my old, old, old, old, old age. COMPROMISE, YO. That’s what makes a REAL man!

  2. Frank

    Speaking of black knighting, there’s one thing I haven’t seen discussed (at least recently) and that’s whether it’s safe to white knight women you have no romantic interest in. Like married women, old ladies, plain janes, etc.

  3. donalgraeme

    Some good links here. Thanks for including me.

    And Frank, the answer is no. You should only “White Knight” for family and friends (ie., those women who have done well by you in the past, like a former teacher).

  4. BradA

    I wouldn’t call Danny’s stuff Black Knighting. It is more just whole hearted participation in a hedonistic culture. Go for it, but definitely not any more pleasing to God than Frivorce, et. al.

    You would have to actively be pushing against the system, not just exploiting it for your own gain. In fact, black knighting often causes personal pain, to prove the unfairness of the current system.

  5. Amanda Lynn Larson

    ……………………………………….

    Men’s Ministries called “Dirt Bags.

    This is -serious-? That isn’t a joke? Please tell me it’s a joke. I actually do thing women need some positive messages to counter the ones Satan puts out. That should not in any way, shape or form translate that crap like that. I have a nephew. I don’t EVER want him thinking that that’s what being a man is, or he is.

  6. FuzzieWuzzie

    Amanda,
    Private Man succeeds at internet dating and this bear fails. That’s why the post got to me.

  7. Ton

    Of course a woman doesn’t want men to understand dating 2.0. It cuts down on her cash and prizes

    Fuzzie, don’t be grumpy about reality, deal with it in whatever manner best serves you. If that is dating like it’s still version 1.0, just realize how much that will drain your wallet and deal with it.

  8. The Ringmistress

    @FuzzieWuzzie,

    I think what is missing is what tactics are used to deal with this reality. I can’t imagine trying to date in a market like this.

    The Private Man acknowledges that it’s not a good thing, on either side. I’m not on the market, but I’d be interested to know how people like my sister ought to be handling things.

    The one that floored me was the shallowness of it all. A marriage based wholly in chemistry is doomed to failure. Necessary, yes. But not sufficient.

  9. Amanda Lynn Larson

    Ton: You’re trying over idiotic assumptions again. I’m a hermit/introvert that doesn’t go out much. Large crowd of people scare me, and I panic when meeting new people outside of work- men -and- women. it cuts down on collecting boytoys.

    If I’m up for prizes, there is an Avengers Legos set I really want.

  10. Ton

    You are still steeped in the feminist imperative you silly little girl. And it comes out in every post you make initiating a new line of thought. You then back track a small bit and try to show some concern for men, but it rings hallow and false

  11. Amanda Lynn Larson

    Ton: It’s actually quite possible I care about my nephew and don’t want him to think he’s a piece of dirt. That could, on some planet, happen. There may even be men in my life that I love (crazy!). You don’t know, and don’t in fact know me.

    Whether or not I’m steeped in the feminist imperative or not does not change the fact that you’re trying to define reality through the magic of your mind. It doesn’t work unless you happen to be God. So please don’t tell me if I love or don’t love the men in my life, or that I don’t care about men.

    You may tell me whether or not you think i’m still acting out of the feminist imperative. Or that I don’t care -enough- about men.

  12. sunshinemary

    @ Fuzzie
    I can’t say for sure if that is the reality of Dating 2.0 for Christians. Frank might be able to comment better than I. I never really dated in the traditional sense, plus I’ve married since forever, so I have no experience. I agree with PM that what he describes is pretty much terrible and, if it’s accurate, it certainly seems like a minefield.

  13. Amanda Lynn Larson

    FuzzieWuzzie: Amanda,
    Private Man succeeds at internet dating and this bear fails. That’s why the post got to me.

    My idealism is failing me, and I’m not saying that to be cute. More: it’s very depressing to think a fair number of people function that way. I’m just going to pray, as I need God today. The world seems very dark and sad.

  14. sunshinemary

    BradA:

    I wouldn’t call Danny’s stuff Black Knighting. It is more just whole hearted participation in a hedonistic culture. Go for it, but definitely not any more pleasing to God than Frivorce, et.

    I agree it's not exactly Vox's Black Knighting per se, but it's a close cousin because he's basically getting the same free stuff that the girls are getting. In Vox's Black Knighting, the goal is to teach women a lesson about the fruit of feminism; true equality isn't so fun after all. In Danny's version, White Knights are taught a lesson; they give free stuff to the girl because she is pretty, and Danny eats it. Is everyone in the interaction wrong? Yes, but the the action originates with the foolish White Knights; to get rid of the problem, we must attack the root.

  15. Ton

    You have a posting history here, which is about women and children. Any notion you care about men is always an.after thought, after some one called you out. I of course am not claiming you do not care about kin who happen to be male. I am saying in your short posting history here, you have demonstrated the typical women and children 1st female imperative attitude. Which is to be expected from feminists, and the concern about children is almost always about women..kids are the window dressing to shift the burden of responsibility from women to society (men) at large.

    You are not special or different, you are a version of a theme which is common as dirt.

  16. Ton

    My experience is dating Chrsiatin women is the worse. They are the ones seeking the largest out lay of cash on the 1st date, never offer to split the tab, largest sense of entitlement, expecting way to catering to and what not. They just aren’t worth it, especially since you know they’ve been dicked down as much as any other woman out there

  17. Amanda Lynn Larson

    Ton: You have a posting history here, which is about women and children. Any notion you care about men is always an.after thought, after some one called you out

    Nowhere does this imply I can’t or don’t care about men. It says my posting history was about women and children. The conversation was about women’s behavior and the evils of feminism, not veterans, or what I thought were the risks facing men and boys. You want to know my opinions about these topics? Ask me. Don’t assume telepathy you don’t have.

    If you’d ask about Veterans, I’ve talked about my grandfather being in WW2 and my bio dad seeing combat in Vietnam. I’d have discussed my extreme frustration with the government not providing remotely adequate services to returning Veterans and not knowing even where to begin to help, and if I can help. I would have been happy to say that I don’t think I’m remotely qualified to go treat Vets! Listen to them, if they want to talk? Yes. Treat or assume I know to help? Not at all. The point of this being: You assumed things because it didn’t come up, and thus I didn’t mention it.

    I feel most qualified to ‘treat’ other women. I feel much less so dealing with men about certain issues. I don’t necessarily think is bad. My impression being, for example, men would prefer a male counselor if they were in crisis, discussing something like sexual abuse, rape, or violence. If you think I should try to start counseling men, let me know. ;)

    kids are the window dressing to shift the burden of responsibility from women to society (men) at large.

    I could, just possibly, care about children because I care about kids. Because I’ve heard, seen or dealt with some horrible, awful crap. I could have held crying kids asking me where there mother and father is, and get to try to come up with an answer where they aren’t doing their job as parents. (This is not fun, by the way.) I could have also worked with traumatized kiddos, which, while rewarding, can be -sad-. It’s even possible that stories of child abuse or kids that had sad endings haunt me, because I have a tiny soul somewhere.

  18. theshadowedknight

    SSM, take away the harem and replace the practiced game with theoretical game, and that is the Christian Marriage Marketplace. One bonus is the relative safety from a false rape. Woooo… Oh, almost forgot–hah, this is a big one, too–religious sabotage from the pulpit and the congregation.

    Calling it corrosive is trying to put a brave face on it. I would use words like crippling, agonizing, maddening. You “win” if you make it through married with some ability to continue to emote. “Losing” means you become a sociopath or involuntary celibate.

    The Shadowed Knight

  19. FuzzieWuzzie

    I have to apologize for snapping. Went next door to check out my neighbor’s garage sale and the conversation got deeper than expected. They told me about how a woman was found last winter frozen to death while wearing three coats. The gas had been shut off..
    If she had a husband or even a roommate, that would not have happened.
    Could this be the price that women pay for feminism?

    SSM, Christian,read churchian, women scare me. Their hamsters are knocking down power shakes. Be glad you don’t have to worry about dating. However, women who contemplating life after divorce should be made aware. It might give them a reason to salvage their marriages.

    Ton, no worries about the wallet. That only comes into it when they date.

    Amanda, it shouldn’t work that way, but that’s what were stuck with. Some wag made the comment somewhere else that the market is set up to accommodate sluts and players.
    That’s not us.

  20. Ton

    That you are designed to help women is neither here nor there, but that your whole concept of being good, serving Christ etc is tied up in it. When you thought you were taking me to take about my lack of service to others, you mention nothing that did not benefit women more then men. Your initial posts were all about such things, your concern for men appeared after others called you out. That is where you heart lays, everything else is almost certain to be spin. You probably believe you own spin, but it’s spin.

    Of course I could be wrong, but nothing you have posted here makes believe that I am.

  21. FuzzieWuzzie

    Left out one detail about the woman found, she lived two streets away.
    That’s how close to home this hit, literally.

  22. Ton

    For the record I don’t much care about you opinion on anything. Maybe if you come up with something clever I’ll ask, but so far you offer the same tripe the overwhelming majority of women offer

  23. theshadowedknight

    Ton, just let her be. Eventually she will either figure it out or leave, and in the meantime we just have to tolerate her. You are arguing with a woman over the internet, which is only slightly above arguing with the computer. It is not going to do a damn thing until she gets it out of her system, or she gets out of here.

    The Shadowed Knight

  24. Ton

    Agreed TSK, not much for arguing with any woman, but I want other men to see the game as its played for their edification.

    did you get my email?

  25. Farm Boy

    I wonder if the graduating slut in the picture is getting a women’s study degree…

  26. sunshinemary

    I actually approve of her footwear even though she is showing too much leg. It’s astonishing how badly people dress for special occasions nowadays. I’ll bet many of her co-graduates were wearing comfy shoes that looked like crap.

    I was thinking about this on Tuesday when we went out to dinner for my MIL’s birthday. We went to a fairly nice restaurant, and about half the people were dressed properly, meaning a shirt and tie for the men and skirts or dresses or nice dress pants for the ladies. Of the remaining half, about a quarter were borderline; polos on the men, sloppy slacks on the ladies. But fully 25% were completely inappropriately attired. We’re talking shorts and t-shirts type of stuff. I saw one lady in a track suit. For crying out loud, people, leave the shorts and track suits for eating at MacDonalds or Big Boy’s, not for some place where people are spending hundreds of dollars on their meal. Have a little class, folks!

  27. BradA

    @SSM,

    > Is everyone in the interaction wrong? Yes, but the the action originates with the foolish White Knights; to get rid of the problem, we must attack the root.

    I am just not convinced that celebrating sin in any manner is right, even if it is going against another sin. I expect others may not have that compunction, though some of these things are what will keep many Christians from taking the red pill.

  28. BradA

    I should add that it is of course your blog and you can link whatever you want, I just wanted to express some thoughts on the glorification of this aspect of sin I often see on the more Christian-friendly sites.

  29. theshadowedknight

    Brad, how are his actions sinful? I am not seeing it. What wrong is being done?

    The Shadowed Knight

  30. Black Eyed Peat

    “women reject sexually promiscuous peers.”

    Non-promiscuous women have nothing to fear.

  31. Black Eyed Peat

    “I wonder if the graduating slut in the picture is getting a women’s study degree…”

    Ha! I doubt it. Probably a hardcore capitalist.

  32. FuzzieWuzzie

    SSM,
    Feeling better now and tought to tell you that you have a thing for shoes.
    Thinking back to a comment on your old blog with a clip from the original Star Trek, the “Givers of Pain and Delight” episode and you said: “I want those boots!”.
    If you had them, could you ever imagine an occaision to wear them in public?

  33. Farm Boy

    If you had them, could you ever imagine an occaision to wear them in public?

    Perhaps at a graduation ceremony.

  34. Black Eyed Peat

    “So how many women fit that description?”

    No idea. But they like their expensive heels, clothes, makeup, cars and toys.

  35. FuzzieWuzzie

    @Farm Boy,
    “If you had them, could you ever imagine an occaisionto wear them in public?”
    “Perhaps at a graduation ceremony.”

    Farm Boy I’ll bet you a virtual doughnut that SSM wore black pumps. Sensible girl–>sensible shoes for a long day on her feet. Happy feet–>happy girl.

  36. Amanda Lynn Larson

    Ton: I mentioned mentoring young men and boys to begin with. The poor includes homeless veterans and men. Beyond that? The original posts by SSM on this very blog were about women, other people were talking about women due to said blog posts. It’s not so bizarre that I had the same topics as the blog.

    As far as personal experience goes? My work is with women, so I know more about them. For example, I know more about rape as a risk factor for PTSD in female drug addicts, to name one example. Male on Male rape in the military is just as serious and just as tragic, but I don’t work with these men and I don’t feel qualified to speak on it in the same way.

    On a topic I know more about and that might be easier to stomach? Ask me about boys as child abuse victims. I dare you. See if I know my stuff, the risks facing boys in the system, and whatever else. Or quit claiming to read my mind. Either or.

  37. FuzzieWuzzie

    Amanda,
    Thanks for the good wishes. Feeling better now.
    We need to pull together and find you a husband, so this scenario can happen;
    Husband: Amanda, it’s three o’clock in the morning. Come to bed.
    Amanda: Not now darling, someone on the internet is wrong.
    It’s not original. I saw it as a cartoon with the genders reversed.

  38. Amanda Lynn Larson

    FuzzieWuzzie: Speaking of feminism, dating, etc, I found something interesting. There was a link about when women pursue sex. It does feature research, but the author also get crude enough I’m not sure I should post the link. I’m copying and posting the parts I found interesting, that involve research, and that aren’t crude.

    Even in research about appropriate dating behavior among adults today, “men and women both agree that men should actively pursue female partners and that women should be passive recipients to their advances,” says Jessica Carbino, a Ph.D. candidate in sociology at UCLA who studies online dating and relationships. “For example, women and men overwhelmingly state that men are supposed to plan dates, ask out the woman, and pick her up. Moreover, when women do not adhere to these scripts they are viewed negatively. For example, women who initiate dates are viewed by men as more promiscuous and not interested in forming a serious relationship.”

    “The men I interview also state that they prefer to be the individual who initiates the date and at times find women who ask them out to be more aggressive.”

    “More and more men are finding it difficult to be as direct, when it comes to dating and sex, as previous generations of men maybe once were,” says Chiara Atik, author of Modern Dating: A Field Guide. We all get that the rules of traditional courtship — in which men make every single advance and women demur or acquiesce — are dead, but we haven’t replaced them with a new standard operating procedure. “Everyone’s being kind of wishy-washy,” Atik says. “Women want sex, but they don’t want to be seen as forward (or worse, desperate). Men want sex but are intimidated, unconfident, or don’t want to be seen as domineering. We’re not sure who should be the sexual instigators, and then no one really steps up to the plate.”

    And this is secular research, and a feminist author quoting this. Her conclusion is obviously different, but it reminded me enough of things I’d heard here to think of this blog.

  39. Hannah

    Amanda, on http://www.lego.com we’ve watched the Avenger’s Lego trailer several times- much prefer the DC Universe though myself… can’t beat the Dark Knight :)

    I was checking out Stingray’s site today, following the submission stories link in the OP above…. came across this and wanted to share it with you… says what I mean but in a nicer way.
    http://verusconditio.wordpress.com/2012/06/26/a-guide-to-entering-the-manosphere-for-women/
    Highly Recommended reading!

    (ps thanks I’m all better – migraine’s gone)

  40. Amanda Lynn Larson

    Hannah: Need.. I don’t care if it’s immature. I need it. @_@ And in further evidence of my inner 10 year old boy (girl?), I have Lego Batman and Lego Batman and Friends for my Nintendo 3DS.

    And I’ll skim the link, sure.

  41. FuzzieWuzzie

    Amanda,
    Yes, all the rules are out the window and, naturally, people are going to be confused.
    About women asserting themselves, wanted to link to the last Pepe le Pew episode. He finally meets a girl skunk and can’t handle his success. She winks and chases him.
    I can identify with that.

  42. Hannah

    We are a house full of Lego Batman here right now, but then I must say I have 6 and 5 yr old boys ;)

    SSM… I liked the pink shoes :) I leaned in for a closer look :) I couldn’t scroll fast enough past your vending machine pic though – thanks for that!

    I’m with you on the attire comment… your MIL birthday observations mirror my own the majority of the time.
    Women wearing PYJAMAS to the supermarket! Leggings worn as the only layer (too sexy if thin, revolting if anything else), trackies and tshirts at a restaurant. Meh.
    Dress up a little people!

    Incidentally I wore a beige version of those pink heels just today at church! With a knee-length dress rather than as we see in the picture, but to me, a SLUT isn’t just showing long legs.
    Am I wrong?
    I wear flats often, but my husband LOVES it when I wear heels when we go out…
    Tell me now if my collection of heels have to be relegated to bedroom time only?!

    Run little hamster run :)

  43. Amanda Lynn Larson

    FuzzieWuzzie: Enough assertion to know people like you is good, but yeah.

    Yes, all the rules are out the window and, naturally, people are going to be confused.

    Yes, and yes.

  44. BradA

    @TSK,

    > Brad, how are his actions sinful? I am not seeing it. What wrong is being done?

    Bonking women outside marriage is definitely not in line with Scriptural commands. Did you think it was fine? Note that one who he asked to regularly get him stuff he also had sex with regularly.

    He is certainly free to do so, but that doesn’t make it right.

  45. Farm Boy

    Happy feet–>happy girl

    Could this be the solution to divorce due to unhaaappiness?

  46. Lori Alexander

    Thank you for the link! Have you read this article
    http://www.stuff.co.nz/life-style/wellbeing/8760102/When-your-mother-says-shes-fat

    I would love to know your thoughts on it comparing it to the article “Don’t lie to your daughters”
    We were always up front with our children about everything. If we thought they were gaining weight, we talked to them about it. No, they didn’t like it but no one likes being confronted with sin. It seems being overweight is not considered a sin anymore, even among Christians.

  47. Frank

    I can’t say for sure if that is the reality of Dating 2.0 for Christians.

    It shouldn’t be but it is. There’s only a small remnant of believers within Christianity who don’t succumb to the world’s acculturation in regards to dating.

    That said, online dating is a particularly toxic minefield, because it draws a particular demographic ranging from those who couldn’t find dates via traditional means, to narcissists who get off on rejecting men en masse.

    Those who failed in the traditional sense usually do so for obvious reasons: they’re neurotic, ugly, have heavy baggage, or are so obsessed with their careers that they have little time for anything else, including a social life, etc.

    The only times when their failure for dating in real life have merit is if they’re particularly social recluses, or they live in a very rural town with little to no options for dating. These constitute a very small minority in online dating, and very difficult to find even after extended searches. The biggest problem is because these tend to be decent, well meaning Christian women, they can’t stomach using online dating for too long before canceling their accounts, so they only show up in short cycles. You really have to be diligent, and even if you do find someone, there’s no guarantee that your Christian faith will be a good match.

    I don’t believe God’s desire is for us to search desperately and aimlessly under such dire conditions, but it’s easy to get caught up in the minutiae of behavior modification thinking just a little bit of game and intelligent is needed and we’ll eventually land a solid, God fearing wife. You can change yourself, but you can’t change the state of affairs today. The remnant of believers are sheep scattered abroad, only God can supernaturally bring them together.

    I do think it’s fine to keep an eye out and pursue opportunities where they present themselves, but I have to live my life too. I can’t can’t let something like this utterly consume me that I can’t even enjoy the life God DID give me.

  48. crimsonviceroy

    Frank,

    That is a great comment, friend.

    “I don’t believe God’s desire is for us to search desperately and aimlessly under such dire conditions, but it’s easy to get caught up in the minutiae of behavior modification thinking just a little bit of game and intelligent is needed and we’ll eventually land a solid, God fearing wife. You can change yourself, but you can’t change the state of affairs today. The remnant of believers are sheep scattered abroad, only God can supernaturally bring them together.”

    That’s the money shot right there. Couldn’t have summed it up better.

  49. ray

    “I am just not convinced that celebrating sin in any manner is right, even if it is going against another sin.”

    i am convinced that celebrating sin is wrong, but then so is a “Christian” blogger advocating mass suicide by The Evil Boomers who “caused all of America’s problems”

    damned right! hang ‘em all high on the Scapegoat Tree there along with, uh, what was that guy’s name again?

    hey lucifer is Superintelligent too and look what it got him/her/it

    link-love! gimme my link-love!

    it’s a LOT more important to be cool than to please God, yea let Earth speak! O Almighty Group, chime thou in unison!

    heck, Vengeance Black Knighting and demanding suicide (for an entire generation lol! — whoo baby yeah that’s GREAT Christian counsel) along with championing someone named Private Man (non-Christian but then who needs Christ when you have PERSONALLY developed Red Pill Dating?)

    and what did the prophets do? probly nothing, and if they did, Mr. Private Man doesnt know anyway, who needs them when youve developed your OWN Game System!

    Mr Man “developed” it himself, and folks please please trust me on this, it will allow YOU, yes YOU TOO, to be filled with stupid “advice,” self-delusion, sin, and STDs

    Mr. Private Man is PASSIONATE about giving relationship advice to others, rather like Walmart is PASSIONATE about its new Spring Fashions, although Mr. Man knows zero (0) about Scripture (to say nothing of himself!) but hey, he’s In With the Popular Kids and Goes Along Readily so welcome heathen! shit you shoulda just started your own Church instead of messin’ with a mere System

    proving again that The Herd is by no means female, and that sluttiness is not limited to sexuality

  50. Ton

    I use to follow marriage/ dating advice from Christians. The results were horrible. I no longer listen to Christians on any topic.

  51. Black Eyed Peat

    Any Christian obsessed with sex, married sex or otherwise, is one who has not developed a spiritual life of the mind.

    Sex, sex, sex. Sheesh! There’s much more to life, and to God.

  52. Ton

    I call bullshit! Sex is a big deal in the Bible. One of the 1st commands is to be fruitful, multiple and fill the earth. The Bible has a book devoted to the topic and a lot of verses about sex…. if a topic gets it own book, it’s probably a pretty important

  53. Hannah

    A married christian having sex daily doesn’t need to obsess about sex, because they’re too busy enjoying it.
    A single christian knowing when they marry they’ll be having sex daily doesn’t need to obsess about sex, but focus on finding a spouse :)

    Sex is necessary for life. Sex is necessary to create life. Sex is God-created and God-ordained

    Sex, sex, sex – yep it’s that important!

  54. Hannah

    Black Eyed Peat:
    “Sex, sex, sex. Sheesh! There’s much more to life, and to God.”

    The apostle Paul said this in 1 Corinthians 7-9
    “But if they cannot have self-control, let them marry: for it is better to marry than to burn with passion.”

    It stands to reason, that those married here and those that are hoping to be married here WOULD be the ones burning with passion if they’re NOT getting sex.

    Therefore, the seeming obsession with the topic is due to the fact that there’s been a mathematical error in the world of late.

    Marriage = Sex

    Unfortunately, this transaction has been screwed up… so sadly we’ve got married people STILL burning with passion, and singles realise the deal they might walk into.
    God despises dishonest scales. That’s what I think is going on here.

    Marriage SHOULD be the sexual oasis that gives virgins AND bachelors the incentive to trade in their status.

    It’s ALL about sex – even the Salt n Pepa’s obsessed with it ;)

  55. Amanda Lynn Larson

    Black Eyed Peat: Sex, sex, sex. Sheesh! There’s much more to life, and to God.

    Well said.

    Marriage and sex are wonderful, and important. It’s just still possible to enjoy life, and live for God if you’re not married as not everyone’s called for marriage. It’s a big world out there, with so much to see, explore, and do.

    Hannah:Marriage SHOULD be the sexual oasis that gives virgins AND bachelors the incentive to trade in their status.

    Excellent point, this.

  56. Anonymous Reader

    Farm Boy
    I wonder if the graduating slut in the picture is getting a women’s study degree…

    Not with those shoes. Now, Hospitality & Tourism, maybe….

  57. sunshinemary

    BEP:

    Sex, sex, sex. Sheesh! There’s much more to life, and to God.

    How often do people think about sex? One recent study found that on a daily basis:

    the median number of sexual thoughts for men was 18.6 and for women it was 9.9. In contrast, the average for men was 34.2 and for women it was 18.6. Statistical tests indicated that the number of thoughts about sex was not statistically larger than the number of thoughts about food and sleep. Men had more thoughts about all three of those areas than did women.

    So I guess we could also talk about food and sleep, but that sounds a little boring to me.

  58. Black Eyed Peat

    “But if they cannot have self-control, let them marry: for it is better to marry than to burn with passion.”

    Sure, but that doesn’t mean one can’t practice restraint within marriage as well. Its pretty natural that as one develops more of an inner spiritual life that his or her interest in doing things solely of the flesh will diminish concurrently.

    There’s a natural ebb and flow and it just seems that our society artificially works against that ebb and flow by pumping up sexual arousal when normally there wouldn’t be any, such as through porn and pornographic-like images in the media and in advertising. Then you’ve got Viagra, which artificially pumps one up as well. I just don’t see the point. When the libido starts to wane, which it does gradually with age, just go with the natural flow. If you are a Christian with a rich spiritual life you will not feel any lack.

  59. dannyfrom504

    SSM-
    thank you for defending my position. but it’s time for me to fight my own battle.

    this again harkens back to my favorite Christian meme- “my practicing is more chaste than yours”. i’m not abusing anyone, not hurting anyone; just cashing in on persons that are already making themselves vulnerable. i COULD mention the error in guys ways, but they wouldn’t listen, so i’ll just go along for the ride.

    feel free to disagree with my stand on this, but if you do- i suspect you’ve been a victim of being black knighted.

    are you a better Christian than i? lol. you have no idea what i know, have seen, and been blesses with.

    thank you Mary for standing up for me, but i have it from here on out.

  60. Chris

    Amanda, Richard Thompson has a song that is apropos:

    “The turning of the tide” Richard Thompson.

    How many boys, one night stands,
    How many lips, how many hands, have held you
    Like I’m holding you tonight
    Too many nights, staying up late,
    Too much powder and too much paint
    No you can’t hide from the turning of the tide

    Did they run their fingers up and down your shabby dress
    Did they find some tender moment there in your caress

    The boys all say “You look so fine”
    They don’t come back for a second time
    Oh you can’t hide from the turning of the tide

    Poor little sailor boy, never set eyes on a woman before
    Did he tell you that he’d love you, darling, for evermore?

    Pretty little shoes, cheap perfume,
    Creaking bed in a hotel room
    Oh you can’t hide from the turning of the tide

    Did they run their fingers up and down your shabby dress
    Did they find some tender moment there in your caress

    The boys all say “You look so fine”,
    They don’t come back for a second time
    Oh you can’t hide from the turning of the tide

  61. Cautiously Pessimistic

    With regards to church shopping, there’s a second contingent of folks on the other end of the spectrum that leave a church because it willfully defies scripture and/or becomes overtly politicized/feminized/secularized. However, it seems to me based on my experience that this is a relatively smaller contingent, and it doesn’t leave en masse like the feminists do. This means less of an impact to and less of a response from the church in question. So what’s left are the folks that go to church because that’s what they do on Sunday, and the folks that get their feathers ruffled while reading the wrong parts of scripture.

  62. BradA

    @Danny,

    So sx outside marriage is now fine for the Christian? Clever way to misdirect the issue. Any challenge to stay true to the Scriptures can be discounted by that claim. What is Christianity to you then?

    Also note that labeling others as white knights shows your stance has little value since you have to resort to name calling rather than dealing with the issue. I couldn’t care less how you get your food. Encouraging sex outside marriage is the issue, not a sandwich at the expense of some idiot.

  63. BradA

    > are you a better Christian than i? lol. you have no idea what i know, have seen, and been blesses with.

    Note that it is not a question of who is better. It is a question of who is following the Lord’s commands to live a pure life. Freely having sex outside marriage as you indicate on your blog is certainly not what Christians are called to. Doing it without any remorse does raise the question of how genuine someone’s faith is, but I will leave the determination of salvation and rewards up to God. That is far out of my hands.

    These repeat the same message, but it seems pretty clear to anyone that can read:

    Act 15:20 NKJV – “but that we write to them to abstain from things polluted by idols, [from] sexual immorality, [from] things strangled, and [from] blood.
    Act 15:29 NKJV – that you abstain from things offered to idols, from blood, from things strangled, and from sexual immorality. If you keep yourselves from these, you will do well. Farewell.
    Act 21:25 NKJV – “But concerning the Gentiles who believe, we have written [and] decided that they should observe no such thing, except that they should keep themselves from [things] offered to idols, from blood, from things strangled, and from sexual immorality.”

  64. Chris

    Amanda: this is something you could sing to most modern women. Inside the church or out of it.
    Once they can see their Wylie E Coyote moment coming…. when they become invisible to most men.

Comments are closed.